Fraser leads T8 one-two in Super2 Practice 2 in Perth

Friday 29th April, 2022 – 6:38pm

Declan Fraser has led a Triple Eight Race Engineering one-two in Practice 2 for Round 2 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at Perth’s Wanneroo Raceway.

In a heavily red flag-disrupted session, which ended slightly shy of the scheduled 40 minutes, Fraser ended up on top with a 0:55.5446s in the #777 VF Commodore, while team-mate Cameron Hill went as quick as a 0:55.6252s.

After the first flyers, it was Tyler Everingham (#27 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima) who was quickest on a 0:56.7636s, before Hill knocked him off next time around with a 0:56.5387s.

Hill further improved to a 0:56.3093s on his third lap, putting him just ahead of Fraser’s 0:56.3848s, with both of those laps coming just before a brief red flag period.

Fraser punched out a 0:56.1703s on a short run right after the red flag, and then clocked a 0:55.9910s in the 25th minute, as Matt Payne (#10 Grove Racing Nissan Altima) and Practice 1 fast man Matt McLean (#54 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) came close to going quickest.

Hill returned to the top with a 0:55.6381s and 0:55.6252s on consecutive laps just before the half-hour mark, and a second red flag period.

It was a similar story again in the final minutes, with Fraser setting a 0:55.5466s, and then yet another red flag bringing a slightly premature end to proceedings.

That stoppage, triggered by Nash Morris (#67 Flash Bush Motorsports FGX Falcon) getting stuck in the sand at Turn 1, made for a top three of Fraser, Hill, and MWM’s Thomas Maxwell (#3 Nissan Altima) on a 0:55.6825s.

Everingham ended up fourth on a 0:55.7895s, ahead of Cameron Crick (#38 Eggleston VF Commodore), Aaron Seton (#30 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore), and series leader Zak Best (#78 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon), the latter on a 0:56.0071s.

Rounding out the top 10 were Angelo Mouzouris (#6 MWM Nissan Altima), Jaylyn Robotham (#999 Image Racing VF Commodore), and McLean.

In the Super3 class, Kai Allen (#26 Eggleston VE Commodore) was quickest in 13th outright on a 0:56.4259s, followed by Brad Vaughan (#5 Anderson Motorsport FG Falcon) in 15th outright on a 0:56.5374s.

Qualifying for Race 1 starts tomorrow at 14:00 local time/16:00 AEST.

Results: Practice 2

PosNumTeam/SponsorDriverCarClsFastest lapSplit
1777Triple Eight Race EngineeringDeclan FraserHolden Commodore VFS20:55.5446
2111Triple Eight Race EngineeringCameron HillHolden Commodore VFS20:55.62520:00.0806
33MWMThomas MaxwellNissan AltimaS20:55.68250:00.1379
427Blue Ribbon Legal / MWMTyler EveringhamNissan AltimaS20:55.78950:00.2449
538Eggleston MotorsportCameron CrickHolden Commodore VFS20:55.99880:00.4542
630Sherrin RentalsAaron SetonHolden Commodore VFS20:56.00710:00.4625
778Best Leisure IndustriesZak BestFord Falcon FG/XS20:56.04830:00.5037
86MWMAngelo MouzourisNissan AltimaS20:56.06120:00.5166
9999Erebus Academy / Image RacingJaylyn RobothamHolden Commodore VFS20:56.06160:00.5170
1054Eggleston MotorsportMatthew McLeanHolden Commodore VFS20:56.10360:00.5590
1110Grove RacingMatthew PayneNissan AltimaS20:56.23270:00.6881
1249AWC / Image RacingJay HansonHolden Commodore VFS20:56.34010:00.7955
1326Eggleston MotorsportKai AllenHolden Commodore VECH0:56.42590:00.8813
1418Cavalier HomesMatthew ChahdaFord Falcon FG/XS20:56.46480:00.9202
155Anderson MotorsportBrad VaughanFord Falcon FGCH0:56.53740:00.9928
1667Flash Bush MotorsportsNash MorrisFord Falcon FG/XS20:56.57150:01.0269
1711Brema Group RacingZane MorseHolden Commodore VFS20:56.61460:01.0700
1858EFS 4×4 AccessoriesRyal HarrisHolden Commodore VFS20:56.68210:01.1375
1977MR HDT Race CarsBlake FardellHolden Commodore VE2CH0:57.02700:01.4824
208Steeline RacingElly MorrowHolden Commodore VFS20:57.30380:01.7592
2139Vectra CorpChris SmerdonFord Falcon FGSC30:57.63220:02.0876
2276AC Electrical & Air ConditioniGarry HillsHolden Commodore VE2SC30:57.71760:02.1730
2335Unit RacingJason GomersallFord Falcon FGSC30:58.40210:02.8575
247Mocomm Motorsport CommsJim PollicinaHolden Commodore VESC30:58.49830:02.9537
254Crusher Parts InternationalTony AuddinoFord Falcon BFSC30:59.89920:04.3546
262Page Bros JaycoSteven PageHolden Commodore VE2SC31:01.07760:05.5330
2796Collins RacingGary CollinsHolden Commodore VE2SC31:01.63900:06.0944

Classes: S2 Super2, CH Super3 Championship, SC3 Super3 Cup, HC Super3 Heritage Class